St. Nicholas Krekhiv Monastery
The route starts near the St. Nicholas Krekhiv Monastery (novitiate) of the Basilian Fathers (UGCC). The ancient glory of the monastery (late 17th century) with its miraculous icons of St. Nicholas of Myrlykiv and Krekhiv Mother of God were and still are the reason for the pilgrimage. The complex of the Krekhiv Monastery has the shape of an irregular pentagon. It includes the walls, cells, four towers (one of them is a bell tower), and an entrance gate. The gem of the monastery is the church, built in 1721 – 1737. The architect of the church was Dionisiy Sinkevych. On the territory of the monastery, there is also a wooden temple, rebuilt in 2002, which has its own unique history. You can enter the territory of the monastery through the stone entrance gate and the bridge, built in 1775 – 1788.
Then the route passes through a picturesque place near the mountain Pobiyna. The winding trail rises rapidly, then goes down again. It is reminiscent of a journey through the Carpathians. The trail leads us to the healing spring of the Virgin
Tymosh Stone Tract
Walking uphill from the spring, we see the rocks with caves, where the first monks Yoil and Sylvestr, away from the human eye, founded a monastery in a large rock (late 16th century). Tymosh’s Stone
We continue going down the route, admiring the nature of Roztochia.
There is a recreation center “Kozulka” not far from the trail (1 km).
When planning a trip to “Krekhiv Shrines”, save some time for staying at “Kozulka”.
Deviation from the route.
Damage to natural objects.
Breeding hearths in places not designated for this purpose, smoking when passing through forests.
Felling and damage to trees plucking flowers, collecting medicinal plants.
Hunting for animals, destruction of their habitats.
Catching fish by any means.
Stay with firearms.
Territory littering, noise.